Harare Zimbabwe



Holy Trinity College

Holy Trinity College was founded in August 2003 by the following Congregations: Redemptorists CSsR, Franciscans OFM and Carmelites O Carm, Ronald McAinsh CSSR serving as Rector and Bursar, Joseph Mac Mahon OFM as Dean. There were 12 students. In August 2004 the Congregation of the Holy Spirit (CSSp) joined, bringing the number of students to 24. Classes were first conducted in the Redemptorist and Franciscan Communities. HTC was accommodated at Silveira House, a Jesuit Adult Education and Development Centre from 2005 2008. In August 2008 HTC began its sixth academic year at Nazareth House. This year (2011-2012) the anticipated student roll is 38. HTC was admitted as an associate College of the Catholic University in Zimbabwe (CUZ) on 22nd March, 2010. A Bachelor of Arts (in Theology) is awarded by CUZ on successful conclusion of the four year degree programme.

The college is owned by the Board of Governors which is constituted as follows: the Provincial of the Irish Province of the Carmelites (O.Carm), the Provincial of the Irish Province of the Franciscans (OFM), the Provincial of the Redemptorist Province of London (CSSR) and the Regional Superior of the South Central Africa Foundation of the Spiritans (CSSp).


The purpose of the College is to provide theological and pastoral training for its members, especially those preparing for ordination to the ministerial priesthood in a way that it integrated within their spiritual formation as religious. It aims to provide its students with an understanding of the basic teaching and heritage of the Catholic tradition, of the roles of the ordained priest and other ministers within this tradition, and to equip the students with the skills necessary to carry out their functions. The College follows the guidelines on preparation for priestly ministry set down by the Holy See in Sapientia Christiana, by the Zimbabwean Bishops’ Conference and by the participating religious congregations mentioned above. It also follows the academic requirements set down by the Ministry of Higher Education in Zimbabwe and the Catholic University in Zimbabwe. The College is open to religious and others who wish to avail themselves of its courses in preparation for priesthood, for religious and social ministry, for teaching, or for their own initial and ongoing formation.

Governance of the college

The College is governed by the Board of Governors, composed of the Major Superiors of the four participating institutions, together with the four regional superiors. The Board of Governors is convened in plenary session at the College on the third Friday in February each year. When not in session the Board delegates its authority to the Executive Committee, consisting of the four regional superiors of the four Congregations, together with the Rector and Dean of Studies. The Executive Committee may act on all matters not reserved to the Board of Governors.

The Rector is responsible for the daily affairs of the College, for regular contact with the local regional superiors, for overseeing the work of other office-holders of the College, for encouraging and fostering unity in appropriate ways. He presides over meetings of the Academic Council and the Executive Committee and delivers an annual report to the Board of Governors.

The Dean of Studies administers the academic programme, including such matters as courses and timetables, normal contact with lecturers, assessment and evaluation, records and discipline.

The Bursar calls the annual meeting of the Finance Committee which comprises the bursars of the four congregations at which the annual budget is agreed. The Bursar collects fees, maintains the College Accounts and disburses funds in accordance with the budget. He prepares the annual financial report for the Board of Governors.

The Administration Committee assists the Rector in the day to day running of the College and reports to the Executive Committee. The Committee meets fortnightly during term and is chaired by the Rector. Membership includes the office holders of the College with each religious congregation represented.

The Academic Council deals with matters concerning studies, curriculum, calendar and textbooks. It examines all marks before they are made public and reviews the academic programme. It oversees the content and academic standards of any course of study, lays down procedures for assessment and the award of qualifications. The Academic Council consists of the Rector, the Dean of Studies, four other members appointed by the Executive Committee and two student representatives. The Council meets twice each Semester. The Second meeting of each Semester is a Results meeting.


Graduating Students